Entertainment

Donna takes on Hedon’s ‘Summer to Stardom’ hopes!

HEDON has a new champion taking on the town’s hopes to become the next Viking FM presenter – Donna Piercy.

donna-piercy Donna sneaked in under our competition Radar after being labelled ‘from Hull’ but is very much from Hedon and has got through to the final 18 hopefuls of Viking FM’s search for its new presenter!

The 18 have already been through live auditions and last Friday (22nd August 2014) went to visit the Viking FM studios in Hull for the interview stage of the selection process.

Now on Saturday, the 18 are to take part in a one-day ‘Presenter Academy’ which will see the contestants whittled down to 5.

We asked Donna what had prompted her to take part in the competition:

“Basically I’ve had a rough couple of years and I’ve decided to be brave and do things that I wanted to do! I’ve always been a bit of an entertainer with family and friends.

“I’d been on Viking with Sean Goldsmith the morning presenter before as I won some tickets to see Fame. I made him laugh and he asked If he could use me on the show as they needed bubbly people! I agreed and he used my voice as a jingle on his phone-ins!

“All my friends were saying this is so you! Then when the Summer to Stardom auditions came up my four children said ‘Mum go for it!’ “

However, the bubbly 45-year-old’s enthusiastic outlook on life has been formed through coping with very sad circumstances:

“I lost my gorgeous brother who had down syndrome last summer in a tragic accident. It makes you look at life through very different eyes.

“I faced hundreds of people with a campaign for my brother to get seatbelt alarms made compulsory. I spoke to them and got them to sign a petition. And even though that subject was tough for me, I managed to get through two full days of campaigning to stop what happened to my brother ever happening again.”

And on being the next Viking FM presenter?

“I knew I could do this. I’m defo a people person! Love talking, love music and love making people laugh!”

So folks – let’s get behind our new town champion for the competition!

Come on Donna!

Tune in, and listen to the latest competition updates on 96.9 Viking FM!

Visit: www.vikingfm.co.uk

PS: Commiseration to Hedon’s Samantha Atkin who didn’t get through to the final 18. 😦

2 replies »

  1. IN a fantastic effort Donna got placed 7th from the final 18. Alas, not enough to get through to the next round (final 5) but absolutely great all the same – flying the flag for Hedon.

    WELL DONE DONNA !!

    Like

Leave a Reply (FULL NAMES please, don't post anonymously)

