SOME 25 people, of all ages, took part in a Hedon History Walk on Sunday. Tour guide for the fascinating ramble around the ancient borough’s streets was Dr. Martin Craven from the Hedon Museum Society. Martin, who is also an honorary Freeman of Hedon for his services to promoting and preserving the history of the town, explained about the historical significance of the St Augustine’s Church known as the ‘King of Holderness’ and pointed out many facets of the church, both exterior and interior, that are often overlooked by the casual visitor.
The tour began at Market Hill which was the old town centre of Hedon, it visited Souttergate location of Hedon’s most ancient building the Painter’s Cottages built in 1562, it crossed the Market Place and its ancient bull ring and visited the enigmatic Kilnsea Cross in the grounds of Holyrood House.
The walk ended with refreshments at the Hedon Museum and an opportunity to have a look at the exhibits there including the latest display of bright and beautiful paintings by Holderness artist Larry Malkin.
The Hedon History Walk was organised by Hedon Town Council’s events working group.